December Eighteenth – more silly songs

A couple more silly songs that I remember from my childhood and which you won’t hear on the Ultimate Christmas Party Album.

“I’m walking backwards for Christmas”

We used to listen to The Goon Show a lot when we we’re younger – particularly on tapes on long car journeys. The absurd and surreal humour definitely influenced what I find funny as an adult.

“All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth”

Our Grandpa used to sing this as he did his Eric Morecambe double-step into the kitchen for a sherry before Christmas lunch. He actually just used to sing the first line and I didn’t know the whole song until YouTube. Now I see it’s been covered by many people, including Michael Bublé and Elmo.

Leave a reply:

