December Seventeenth – a silly song

A couple of years ago I went with my husband’s family to see a panto at the Hall for Cornwall in Truro. I can’t remember which panto it was, but it was a completely traditional one with a pantomime dame, shouts of “he’s behind you”, sweets thrown into the audience and comedy sing-alongs.

One of the songs was the catchily-titled “When can I have a banana again?” which turned out to be an earworm that had us laughing/groaning all Christmas. Later, we were surprised to find it was a real song rather than something which had been made up for the show:

Google seems to suggest it is a WW2 song about rationing and was included in the Dad’s Army stage show. I imagine the script of the panto must have been written in the mid-twentieth century and so all the traditional elements I remember from my own childhood were included (and enjoyed by me) without irony.

Leave a reply:

