December Eleventh – BBC Song of the Year

Ugh. I was in a proper funk this evening. It was pouring with rain and I made the classic error of going late night shopping for Christmas party clothes. Nothing was fitting me and most things were horrible and scratchy. On the bright side, I bumped into a friend with her gorgeous little newborn in the M&S café and had a quick chat.

Back home with a glass of wine I was flicking through the channels and landed on the inaugural BBC Music Awards and the BBC Song of the Year.

They played clips of the nominations:

  1. “Rather Be” – Clean Bandit ft. Jess Glynne
  2. “A Sky Full Of Stars” – Coldplay
  3. “Sing” – Ed Sheeran
  4. “Ghost” – Ella Henderson
  5. “Budapest” – George Ezra
  6. “Hideaway” – Kiesza
  7. “Royals” – Lorde
  8. “Am I Wrong” – Nico & Vinz
  9. “Happy” – Pharrell
  10. “Money On My Mind” – Sam Smit

I had to laugh cos I only recognised three of those songs plus a couple that sounded vaguely familiar (the Coldplay one doesn’t count – all their songs sound the same to me). These are the songs with the most airplay on BBC Radio, so I must be getting old!

At least I’ve heard of the winner (thanks to Despicable Me 2)!

Leave a reply:

