A Project Life page

Project Life 2014 week 9 left side

This page was from the start of March (week nine). It covers a normal work week, but most of the photos are from the start of our trip to Oman which started at the weekend.

This was a really quick and simple layout. I used some official Project Life products (cards from the Coral edition core kit, date stamp) plus a printable label from Studio Calico, which I recoloured in PSE and an airline luggage label.

And here’s the facing page:

Project Life 2014 week 9 right sideThis is the start of three pages covering the following week (week ten). We pack so much into our holidays that I need several pages to do them justice. This also helps fill up the album – if I always did just one page a week then it’d be quite bare at the end of the year.

Now we are half way through the year, I’ve noticed some of the things I’ve been doing differently:

Less white space

Last year I used the Seafoam, Midnight and Jade kits which look great alongside photo collages with deep white borders. Here’s an example of what I mean. This year I’m using the Coral kit, which is more grey-based and, to my eye, looks better with full photos. I think I might be going in the opposite direction to a lot of PL-ers, who move towards more white space!

Handwritten titles

Last year I printed the titles of my ‘week in review’ and monthly header cards. Even though it looked smart, it was a faff and I wasted quite a few cards due to the printer slipping. This year I’m using a date stamp for the ‘week in review’ cards and my handwriting for the monthly title cards. Much quicker!

More kit cards

Last year I used a lot of plain grid cards and a lot of small photos. As a result I have loads of cards from last year’s kits left over. So now I’m making sure to actually use the kit cards every week and to use matching colours/patterns for the intended harmonious look.

More ‘stuff’

It’s a slippery slope this business. I’ve gradually started buying some bits and pieces – such as roller stamps, stickers and chipboard embellishments – so I can do more layering etc. Here’s an example of a small card which is slightly more elaborate than what I was doing before:

IMG_0648

Thanks for looking at my pages!

Leave a reply:

